A DUI/DWI Conviction Can Affect Your Life In Many Ways
Maryland takes drunk driving seriously and imposes tough penalties that can affect your driver’s license, finances and perhaps your freedom. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could be subject to a jail or prison sentence if convicted.
That is why it’s important to have an experienced, smart defense attorney on your side. At Scales Law Group, LLC, in Ocean City, attorney Stephanie Scales-Sherrin provides strategic, aggressive criminal defense representation designed to minimize consequences and get a desired outcome for you. Whether you were arrested, your child was arrested, or you were visiting the Eastern Shore when you were arrested, you can rely on her for straightforward, effective counsel to help you navigate the legal system and limit the impact of the case on your future.
You Need Representation In The Criminal And Administrative Cases
In Maryland, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is charged when the driver is suspected of being unable to properly and/or safely operate a motor vehicle. While a .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or above is considered legally drunk, you can be arrested with a BAC under .08%. Underage drivers are considered impaired with a BAC limit of .02%. If your teen was charged with DUI/DWI, you want them to have the best representation to limit the damage to their criminal and driving records, and to their future.
A first-offense DUI conviction has harsh penalties and consequences, which may include:
- A jail sentence 60 days to one (1) year
- A fine $500 – $1,000
- Court costs
- License revocation/suspension up to 270 days
- Twelve points on your license and increased insurance rates
- Potential installation of an ignition interlock device for likely one (1) year
In addition, if you refuse to take a breath or blood test at the police station, you receive an automatic license suspension. For a first refusal, you will receive a license suspension of at least 270 days.
To get an administrative hearing with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to challenge your license suspension, you must request a hearing as soon as possible and no later than 30 days after the incident.
You want a lawyer to represent you at this administrative hearing, which is a separate proceeding from the criminal case against you.
Now Is The Time To Get Started On Your DUI/DWI Defense
It’s important to act quickly after being charged with DUI/DWI, even if it is your first offense. Stephanie Scales-Sherrin has the experience and skill to protect your rights and freedom. Call her at 443-291-8518 or contact her online. Your consultation is free.